How The Velvet Underground Saved November

A few days ago T. Rex’s Get it On got itself stuck in my head and stubbornly refused to leave. I decided to exorcise it by using it as a writing prompt, what I ended up with was a Velvet Underground inspired story called Candy Says (named after a song from their 1969 eponymous album). The Candy in The Velvet’s song was based on Candy Darling an American transgender actress and star of various Andy Warhol movies, my Candy was a mentally ill university student who becomes involved with her married philosophy professor (who is on the verge of his own breakdown).

I didn’t realise it at the time, as I still didn’t have a clear plan for my novel, that this story is my novel, except that I will recast it into contemporary times with a third person narration.

We’re now two thirds of the way through NaNoWriMo and I have quite a bit of catching up to do, but at least I now have a story — I did say I was a shameless ‘pantser’. Not only do I have some kinda plot, I also have Some Kinda Love — that’s my working title taken from another VU song from their 1969 album. And, for the moment, I’ve decided to go all out on the VU influence in using their songs as daily prompts.

So armed with The Velvet Underground’s back catalogue and lots of caffeine fuelling my renewed inspiration, those 50,000 words suddenly seem reachable again.

I’ll leave you with today’s prompt song, I’ll Be Your Mirror from their 1967 album The Velvet Underground & Nico.

© 2016 Occasional Dreams

Author: David K

Occasional dreamer, constant writer, and lover of words trying to figure out what it's all about.

6 thoughts on “How The Velvet Underground Saved November”

Leave a Reply

